Shaver Lake Vacation Property Reviews

Listed below are the latest reviews and ratings from guests who have stayed in our properties. We hope that you enjoy reading about the vacation experiences of our past guests, and we hope the reviews below will help you find the perfect property for your next vacation in our beautiful mountain area.

To speak with a Vacation Planner concerning additional details about the properties that you are interested in, give us a call at (800) 442-4102 or visit our website page today.

If you have stayed in one of our Vacation properties in the past, we would appreciate it very much if you would visit that specific property’s individual property page and leave a review. Reviews help potential vacationers find the perfect property for their needs and keep SLVR and our property owners informed of our guests wants and needs.

Display
Sort Results By:

248 Reviews Found

Walton's Mountain Review Rating:
Name: Diana Date: 04/26/2017
I would like to have the choice of whether or not I bring my own linens.
Living Pines Condominium Review Rating:
Name: Jamie Date: 04/26/2017
Compared to the other rentals my family and I have done with you this one barely met basic needs. Kitchen appliances were very very old and the burners did not sit flat so it was difficult to cook on. I also had to rewash a lot of dishes from cupboard because they had dried food on them. The internet didn't connect either but that was a blessing in disguise because it made me avoid work and have a relaxing Easter with my family ?.... I did have a great time over all but would not choose this rental again. Customer service was good ?
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Whitty Date: 04/26/2017
The location is convenient (walking distance) to the restaurants in the village. The mini-park next to the property would be fun for kids when the weather is warmer or when there is snow. Kitchen well stocked with utensils. Beds ok. Wifi worked.
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Tiffany Date: 04/26/2017
The cabin was amazing so cozy and spacious! We just happened to come a day before a beautiful snow fall and we took some beautiful photos and footage around the area. Documented memories and a vacation we will never forget. Overall the property met expectations. A few minor things that needed to be taken care of such as a slow drain in one of the showers. All was well and taken care of within a few hours after a phone call was made. We were out skiing and came back to a fully functioning shower. Microwave was on its last leg definitely needs to be replaced. A few supplies ran out such as trash bags and dish soap for the price we paid we expected those items to be well stocked. However everything else was perfect. Sat by the fire watching the snowflakes blanket the yard. We would have love a jacuzzi but do plan on making another trip to this area.
Rocky Pines Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Christine Nelson Date: 03/27/2017
There were nine of us celebrating my 50th birthday. China Peak was no more than a 30 minute drive to go skiing. We were all very comfortable and absolutely loved the ambiance of the cabin and how cozy it was – we missed the deer head they removed off the wall though – ha! Only one neighbor and there was a couple areas on the side of the cabin to play on the snow sleds – so much fun!!! The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook, clean and eat/drink from. Very few containers with matching lids for left overs though. I recommend you bring your own zip lock bags and tall kitchen garbage bags. There is a trash compacter, but no bags were supplied. There is a Keurig machine just so you know. We couldn't use the fire place due to the smoke coming into the cabin. The flute was open - couldn't figure out why the smoke wasn't going up the chimney. The cabin heater worked perfectly to keep us warm. Bring a tire pump for the mountain bikes in the garage. Tires were flat and we couldn’t find a pump in the garage. They have a dart board but no darts and the ping pong table net was missing a support bar to hold the net up. We tried using a butter knife………just didn’t work out. Pool table and Shuffle board tables were a lot of fun!!! Bring a couple coolers for your drinks and other items to keep cold. They have one side by side refrigerator for the whole cabin and even with just the nine of us there wasn’t enough space for all our food. Couldn’t imagine sharing that one fridge with 12 people. Coolers out on the side porch worked out great for all our beverages and some other food items. Town is a couple miles away to buy more ice for the coolers. I recommend they buy a full size fridge for the garage. Propane grill worked out great for our BBQs. Oh, the air mattress had a hole in it too so bring your own if you need the extra bed. Yes, we are making plans to come back next year and have no interest in staying in another cabin. WE LOVED THIS PLACE despite a few minor inconveniences. I gave a rating of 4 due to the small things I mentioned above. Décor inside and out were enjoyable - we named the deer out front, Otis.
Wagon Wheel Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Nicole Date: 03/21/2017
We had a great time staying here with our family. It was bigger than I expected so that was a plus. The code didn't work when we arrived so we had to drive back out in order to get service to make the call to get it corrected. It was an easy fix. The game room upstairs needs some improvement. Overall, we had a great time staying there.
Smoke Tree Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Darrell Date: 03/13/2017
Loved that the cabin could sleep so many people. We brought 2 families with 7 total kids, every kid had their own bed. The converted basement was cold and drafty, it had 2 vents open to the exterior, but the combination of space heaters and pillows over the vents kept it warm enough for the kids, who loved the room. Seems like an easy fix. The staircase is really narrow and steep, but there was always at least one kid hanging out down there. The pool table was nice to have. The kitchen and bathrooms were functional and partially renovated, the cabin itself had a nice 50's architecture but was recently updated. Is it a luxury cabin? No. But it also isn't priced like one.
Foxtail Delight Review Rating:
Name: Robert Date: 03/08/2017
The front breezeway had two broken windows and television in upstairs bedroom looked like it had taken a fall off of dresser. Items like that should be noted to new renters so not to look like they would feel responsible Overall great cabin and we had a great time. Would look at staying there again in the future. Thanks again!
Bear Bottom Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Linda Date: 03/08/2017
Very nice cabin and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, location, etc. The game room provided us with lots of entertainment from pool to air hockey. The only thing I would advise renters is to bring your own condiments and games (salt, pepper, baggies, board games, etc.). Also, there is very limited space for your food so we just had lots of food stored on the floor near their pantry. Great cabin with lots of amenities.
River Rock Rest Review Rating:
Name: Chad Date: 03/08/2017
There was an odor issue in the River Rock Rest cabin and we were given one night's credit for the "smelly" stay. We thank you for that! Your customer service is wonderful!
New England Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Mira Date: 03/08/2017
Great service! Specifically big " thank you " to Judy !!! See you next year ? Mira
Happy Timers Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Victoria Date: 03/08/2017
this is the 3rd time we've stayed at one of your rentals they have all been good no complaints.
Morning Star Condominium Review Rating:
Name: Bruce Date: 03/08/2017
Only wish I knew was equipped with pellet stove..brought firewood. Your maintenance staff was helpful and great starting stove.
Shady Cove Condominium Review Rating:
Name: Jeff Date: 03/08/2017
Reservation staff was amazing
Littleridge Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Levi Date: 03/08/2017
I hate to complain about this, but there are 2 things wrong with this cabin. The 1st would be there isn't a single sharp knife in the house. I have spoons sharper than some of the knives here. The other would be the quality of TV. Terrible quality TV reception for the quality of house. Again not really an issue but when you get a snow day and just want to watch TV and you only get like 15 channels and the quality sucks it ruins the lazy snow day. Otherwise i love this place. have stayed here 6 times now and will continue to do so.
Quality Time Review Rating:
Name: William Date: 03/08/2017
Master shower needs bleach for mold around glass. Your service was great as always.
Mountain Memories Review Rating:
Name: Jeff Date: 03/08/2017
A couple of things didn't seem to work, but overall everything suited our needs just fine. Two things we noticed on the reservation agreement - it said to bring our own paper towels and there were some already in the kitchen, and it said the washer and dryer would not be available and they clearly were. Otherwise, we definitely considered this one of our best rental experiences and we have had many during the past ten years.
Snugglers Inn Condominium Review Rating:
Name: Adrian Date: 03/08/2017
Snow melt and rain was not managed well on paths to the condo. Small water bars could funnel water off path & steps. I could not find the fire wood (not a real problem -saved me some work making a fire) I would recommend your service and the condo.
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Ricardo Date: 03/08/2017
Reservation staff was amazing.
Crest Vista Review Rating:
Name: Susan Date: 03/08/2017
This is a very beautiful home.
Breezy Meadow Review Rating:
Name: Tracie Date: 03/08/2017
Judy was very accommodating and understanding and exceeded our expectations for customer service.
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Laura Date: 03/08/2017
We love coming to Shaver and staying in the rentals. This one was great!
Huntington Lair Condominium Review Rating:
Name: Terry Date: 03/08/2017
The staff were very helpful at the condo complex. Two of the people who work there helped us put chains on our wheels. Also the man who worked clearing the snow with helped us with our chains too. Graham who works in the community clubhouse was very helpful with advice and directed us to a great hill for sledding which our children enjoyed. We didn't have electricity one day but that was not the fault of the condo complex. But they responded quickly to keep us up-to-date with when the utility service repair would be complete so that we get electricity back. Overall I think the staff is super.
Paws Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Melody Date: 03/08/2017
Greatest experience. Will book again!
Paws Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Sarah Date: 03/08/2017
one of the stove burners did not work the bathrooms were not cleaned well and there were things left under master bed. need extra blankets in master and queen bedroom and the lights in the kitchen and living room should be on a dimmer too bright.
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Heidi Date: 02/27/2017
We love this little cottage however due to the poor condition of the mattress, we are just too old to be uncomfortable and will most likely not return to this location :-(
  Manager Response:
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your frank comments about the Cottage. We are sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable with the mattress. This has not been an issue until the previous guest and now you. So we will pursue replacing the mattress set asap. When you think of coming up to visit Shaver Lake again, please don’t count the Cottage out. Check with us to make sure it has been replaced. The owners are very sensitive to guest comfort so they will no doubt replace it quickly. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!!
Smoke Tree Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/23/2017
We rented this property over President's day weekend as it was the last available property after searching 4 websites. We paid $425 per night with a $310 cleaning fee. It is listed as a 4bd, but the 4th "bedroom" is actually the basement that is freezing cold and musty smelling. It has steep, narrow stairs leading down to it, which may pose a safety issue if someone needed to use the restroom in the middle of the night. My children were excited that there were bunk beds, but there was no way I was going to let them sleep down there. Luckily, we weren't relying on those beds. The cabin is old and has been partially updated. There are no window coverings on any of the downstairs windows. The upstairs beds were not very comfortable and seemed old. The positives are that the kitchen has newer appliances and the cabin was clean. We enjoyed the pool table/ping pong table. We also like the keyless entry system - so nice to be able to drive straight to the cabin & not have to stop by the rental office to pick up a key. We have rented several cabins & condos in both Shaver lake and Huntington Lake. We felt taken advantage of for how much we paid to rent this property & have stayed in much nicer properties for a lot less. We will not be returning to this property in the future.
Bear Bottom Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Cory Date: 02/15/2017
The property could use a few more hooks in the kitchen and master bathroom for towels. We felt bad hanging towels on the cupboards and shower curtains. And maybe a cupboard to store your food, etc.
Deaver's Place Review Rating:
Name: Carin Date: 02/15/2017
Even though we had some issues with plumbing and appliances at the cabin, your maintenance crew was very attentive and responded right away. What could have made our stay a disaster, was quickly addressed and didn't skip a beat. Thank you. We will definitely rent from you again in the future.
American Pride Review Rating:
Name: Melissa Date: 02/15/2017
Only a couple of minor issues - the shaverlake.com app didn't refresh from a previous stay so had to call in to receive WiFi information. The cable at the cabin works but picture on all TV's is so wavy and poor you cannot utilize them - not a big deal but a disappointment when they advertise a 55 in screen TV. The heater does not blow in the lower level of the cabin - not sure if that is intentional or not - it makes the master bedroom and small guest bedroom very chilly during the winter. Besides that - everything else was great. Thanks!
Travelers Rest Review Rating:
Name: Bobby Date: 02/15/2017
this cabin is very cozy, plenty of room for 6 to 8 people, walking distance to town for any last minute needs. My family spent a fabulous weekend here and I would recommend it highly.
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Samantha Date: 02/15/2017
We stayed here last year and loved the cabin except the heater did NOT work. Someone came out to look at it, but could not fix it. so we tried to have a fire, but it smoked out the whole cabin! This year I made sure to ask if the heater was fixed and they assured me it was. so I booked it again. This time a pipe broke and I'd leaking outside, so they had to turn off the water! We have NO water! we can't shower, brush our teeth or even flush the toilet! I've already been to the office to see if they could move us to another cabin, but said they were all booked. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!
  Manager Response:
Thank you for completing the review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at The Cottage. Unfortunately the flue had to be opened before lighting the fire. We even recommend opening a door or window to allow the air to flow. We apologize that you had to experience the issue with the broken water main for the first night which is why we are compensating you a free night. Unfortunately because of the holiday weekend, we were sold out which is why we didn't have any available properties to move you into. Hopefully you can come back to stay with us again when the conditions are not so extreme with the cold weather.
Knotty Rock Ridge Review Rating:
Name: Maria Date: 02/08/2017
Had a great time!! Most definitely do it again.
Deer Haven Review Rating:
Name: Lisa Date: 02/08/2017
We had a great time in this beautiful property. Check in was smooth and easy. Staff was available during the weekend if we needed anything. Judy was very helpful. Great team, great house, worth it to add in the hot tub!!
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Monica Date: 02/08/2017
Thank you for your service. A couple of items. The cleanliness was poor, specifically hair in tub, floors didn't seemed to be vacuumed very well and crumbs left in the corners of the kitchen floor. Had problem with the internet and Judy was awesome. Thanks will recommend your service to all my friends.
Elderberry Lodge Review Rating:
Name: daniel Date: 02/06/2017
We loved the cabin. It was beautiful with large windows. It's close to town. We went snowshoeing which was a great experience. We came with friends and will definitely be back with our families for both summer and winter activities. I liked the Shaver Lake app which gave us all the details we needed to conveniently check in and check out without having to even go to their office. Just a heads up there is only parking for 2 vehicles. Like a couple other reviews said it probably could use a little deep cleaning under the couch etc, but it definitely wasn't bad like other people said and if you have any issues the property management will send someone out. Beautiful place, close to everything, great price. We will definitely be back!
Leisure Landing Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
It was beyond what we expected to see. Cabin was clean, warm when we got there and fully stocked. The cabin was spacious, it has a big garage, and a fully stocked good size kitchen, rooms are cozy and they are a good size. I do not have any negative things to say, we had a great time!
Heers Candal Crest Review Rating:
Name: Jovie Date: 02/06/2017
Planned a trip for family and friends to go visit China Peak, and this cabin came up as a great option. The resort was only 5 miles away, so it was really convenient for us, especially since we had a large group. The cabin was beautiful and well maintained, and plenty of space for a large group. Had a nice area in the back where kids can play in the snow. Would love to come back again stay here in the future.
Cold Springs Corner Review Rating:
Name: Jane Date: 02/06/2017
Challenging process with canceling of reservation when I called Thursday at 5pm to ask about water. need a better process to notify clients of major changes. Scott called the next day with another property..we did lose a day of skiing. property parking is a challenge. Maintenance's effort was good to create a 2nd spot. Keyless entry is fabulous thank you
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
We stayed for a week in January. The cabin had everything we needed. We were comfortable and warm during a stormy snowy week. We were close to beautiful trails for snowshoeing/cross country skiing. The rental office made checking in and out simple and easy. It was a great experience overall.
Deer Haven Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
We absolutely loved out stay at Deer Haven, it has everything you could want. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
My kids had a great time. Close enough to town.
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Victoria Date: 02/06/2017
Such a great little cabin in a beautiful area! Being able to have our dogs with us was such a huge plus. We will definitely be back next year!
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Jeremy Date: 02/06/2017
Nice quite relaxing getaway for two. Not a big deal but pretty sure the bed is a full and not a queen no complaints will return in the future.
Mountain Digs Review Rating:
Name: Christina Date: 02/06/2017
This is a great property for a small group. The kitchen is well stocked, bedrooms are clean and just the right size, and the living room is great for gathering and we had a blast in the front and back yards playing in the snow. Overall a great property and you can tell the family that owns it treasures it. This is the second time I've rented for a group through SLVR and I will definitely be back to the area!
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Natalie Date: 01/19/2017
We had a great time in this cabin. It couldn't have been more of a perfect location. So beautiful to see everything covered in fresh white snow. We made a lot of great family memories.
Mountain Digs Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/19/2017
An older cabin, but spacious, warm And clean!
Bear Bottom Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
Beautiful cabin, fully stocked, game room to keep everyone entertained for hours ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ This was our annual family Christmas trip and by far the best one yet! The cabin was perfect, plenty of room for the 12 of us. After a day of playing in the snow we would come back to the cabin and continue the fun in the game room, it was fantastic. Thank you to the owners for sharing their beautiful cabin! We can't wait to come and stay again
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
We really enjoyed our time in Shaver Lake! The cabin is nicely located - close to town & parks. The cabin is cozy and has all you need but if you are looking for updates cosmetically or updated appliances, this won't be the place for you. Everything worked but is old. No central heat so there are space heaters in each room. The location is nice, end of the cul-de-sac and nice area to play in the snow. Short walk to small pond. Property management was prompt and use of email was great!
Kokanee Cove Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
Hard to get up the steep street even with chains. Make sure to bring a four wheel drive vehicle if possible. Loved the street and location. Shaver lake is a nice area. 1.5 from Yosemite and Sequoia. We were able to see both in two days. I would stay there again