Shaver Lake Vacation Property Reviews

Listed below are the latest reviews and ratings from guests who have stayed in our properties. We hope that you enjoy reading about the vacation experiences of our past guests, and we hope the reviews below will help you find the perfect property for your next vacation in our beautiful mountain area.

To speak with a Vacation Planner concerning additional details about the properties that you are interested in, give us a call at (800) 442-4102 or visit our website page today.

If you have stayed in one of our Vacation properties in the past, we would appreciate it very much if you would visit that specific property’s individual property page and leave a review. Reviews help potential vacationers find the perfect property for their needs and keep SLVR and our property owners informed of our guests wants and needs.

Display
Sort Results By:

241 Reviews Found

Smoke Tree Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/23/2017
We rented this property over President's day weekend as it was the last available property after searching 4 websites. We paid $425 per night with a $310 cleaning fee. It is listed as a 4bd, but the 4th "bedroom" is actually the basement that is freezing cold and musty smelling. It has steep, narrow stairs leading down to it, which may pose a safety issue if someone needed to use the restroom in the middle of the night. My children were excited that there were bunk beds, but there was no way I was going to let them sleep down there. Luckily, we weren't relying on those beds. The cabin is old and has been partially updated. There are no window coverings on any of the downstairs windows. The upstairs beds were not very comfortable and seemed old. The positives are that the kitchen has newer appliances and the cabin was clean. We enjoyed the pool table/ping pong table. We also like the keyless entry system - so nice to be able to drive straight to the cabin & not have to stop by the rental office to pick up a key. We have rented several cabins & condos in both Shaver lake and Huntington Lake. We felt taken advantage of for how much we paid to rent this property & have stayed in much nicer properties for a lot less. We will not be returning to this property in the future.
Cedar Acres Review Rating:
Name: Jim Date: 02/21/2017
Service was great easy in and out unit was clean biggest problem was getting in and out no cement paved walkway or driveway only way to get in or out was walking through mud / water. Your service was great wouldn't rent this unit again but given how late I called.
Bear Bottom Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Cory Date: 02/15/2017
The property could use a few more hooks in the kitchen and master bathroom for towels. We felt bad hanging towels on the cupboards and shower curtains. And maybe a cupboard to store your food, etc.
Deaver's Place Review Rating:
Name: Carin Date: 02/15/2017
Even though we had some issues with plumbing and appliances at the cabin, your maintenance crew was very attentive and responded right away. What could have made our stay a disaster, was quickly addressed and didn't skip a beat. Thank you. We will definitely rent from you again in the future.
American Pride Review Rating:
Name: Melissa Date: 02/15/2017
Only a couple of minor issues - the shaverlake.com app didn't refresh from a previous stay so had to call in to receive WiFi information. The cable at the cabin works but picture on all TV's is so wavy and poor you cannot utilize them - not a big deal but a disappointment when they advertise a 55 in screen TV. The heater does not blow in the lower level of the cabin - not sure if that is intentional or not - it makes the master bedroom and small guest bedroom very chilly during the winter. Besides that - everything else was great. Thanks!
Travelers Rest Review Rating:
Name: Bobby Date: 02/15/2017
this cabin is very cozy, plenty of room for 6 to 8 people, walking distance to town for any last minute needs. My family spent a fabulous weekend here and I would recommend it highly.
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Samantha Date: 02/15/2017
We stayed here last year and loved the cabin except the heater did NOT work. Someone came out to look at it, but could not fix it. so we tried to have a fire, but it smoked out the whole cabin! This year I made sure to ask if the heater was fixed and they assured me it was. so I booked it again. This time a pipe broke and I'd leaking outside, so they had to turn off the water! We have NO water! we can't shower, brush our teeth or even flush the toilet! I've already been to the office to see if they could move us to another cabin, but said they were all booked. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!
  Manager Response:
Thank you for completing the review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at The Cottage. Unfortunately the flue had to be opened before lighting the fire. We even recommend opening a door or window to allow the air to flow. We apologize that you had to experience the issue with the broken water main for the first night which is why we are compensating you a free night. Unfortunately because of the holiday weekend, we were sold out which is why we didn't have any available properties to move you into. Hopefully you can come back to stay with us again when the conditions are not so extreme with the cold weather.
Knotty Rock Ridge Review Rating:
Name: Maria Date: 02/08/2017
Had a great time!! Most definitely do it again.
Deer Haven Review Rating:
Name: Lisa Date: 02/08/2017
We had a great time in this beautiful property. Check in was smooth and easy. Staff was available during the weekend if we needed anything. Judy was very helpful. Great team, great house, worth it to add in the hot tub!!
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Monica Date: 02/08/2017
Thank you for your service. A couple of items. The cleanliness was poor, specifically hair in tub, floors didn't seemed to be vacuumed very well and crumbs left in the corners of the kitchen floor. Had problem with the internet and Judy was awesome. Thanks will recommend your service to all my friends.
Elderberry Lodge Review Rating:
Name: daniel Date: 02/06/2017
We loved the cabin. It was beautiful with large windows. It's close to town. We went snowshoeing which was a great experience. We came with friends and will definitely be back with our families for both summer and winter activities. I liked the Shaver Lake app which gave us all the details we needed to conveniently check in and check out without having to even go to their office. Just a heads up there is only parking for 2 vehicles. Like a couple other reviews said it probably could use a little deep cleaning under the couch etc, but it definitely wasn't bad like other people said and if you have any issues the property management will send someone out. Beautiful place, close to everything, great price. We will definitely be back!
Leisure Landing Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
It was beyond what we expected to see. Cabin was clean, warm when we got there and fully stocked. The cabin was spacious, it has a big garage, and a fully stocked good size kitchen, rooms are cozy and they are a good size. I do not have any negative things to say, we had a great time!
Heers Candal Crest Review Rating:
Name: Jovie Date: 02/06/2017
Planned a trip for family and friends to go visit China Peak, and this cabin came up as a great option. The resort was only 5 miles away, so it was really convenient for us, especially since we had a large group. The cabin was beautiful and well maintained, and plenty of space for a large group. Had a nice area in the back where kids can play in the snow. Would love to come back again stay here in the future.
Cold Springs Corner Review Rating:
Name: Jane Date: 02/06/2017
Challenging process with canceling of reservation when I called Thursday at 5pm to ask about water. need a better process to notify clients of major changes. Scott called the next day with another property..we did lose a day of skiing. property parking is a challenge. Maintenance's effort was good to create a 2nd spot. Keyless entry is fabulous thank you
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
We stayed for a week in January. The cabin had everything we needed. We were comfortable and warm during a stormy snowy week. We were close to beautiful trails for snowshoeing/cross country skiing. The rental office made checking in and out simple and easy. It was a great experience overall.
Deer Haven Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
We absolutely loved out stay at Deer Haven, it has everything you could want. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Date: 02/06/2017
My kids had a great time. Close enough to town.
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Victoria Date: 02/06/2017
Such a great little cabin in a beautiful area! Being able to have our dogs with us was such a huge plus. We will definitely be back next year!
The Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Jeremy Date: 02/06/2017
Nice quite relaxing getaway for two. Not a big deal but pretty sure the bed is a full and not a queen no complaints will return in the future.
Mountain Digs Review Rating:
Name: Christina Date: 02/06/2017
This is a great property for a small group. The kitchen is well stocked, bedrooms are clean and just the right size, and the living room is great for gathering and we had a blast in the front and back yards playing in the snow. Overall a great property and you can tell the family that owns it treasures it. This is the second time I've rented for a group through SLVR and I will definitely be back to the area!
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Natalie Date: 01/19/2017
We had a great time in this cabin. It couldn't have been more of a perfect location. So beautiful to see everything covered in fresh white snow. We made a lot of great family memories.
Mountain Digs Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/19/2017
An older cabin, but spacious, warm And clean!
Bear Bottom Cabin Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
Beautiful cabin, fully stocked, game room to keep everyone entertained for hours ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ This was our annual family Christmas trip and by far the best one yet! The cabin was perfect, plenty of room for the 12 of us. After a day of playing in the snow we would come back to the cabin and continue the fun in the game room, it was fantastic. Thank you to the owners for sharing their beautiful cabin! We can't wait to come and stay again
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
We really enjoyed our time in Shaver Lake! The cabin is nicely located - close to town & parks. The cabin is cozy and has all you need but if you are looking for updates cosmetically or updated appliances, this won't be the place for you. Everything worked but is old. No central heat so there are space heaters in each room. The location is nice, end of the cul-de-sac and nice area to play in the snow. Short walk to small pond. Property management was prompt and use of email was great!
Kokanee Cove Review Rating:
Name: Date: 01/17/2017
Hard to get up the steep street even with chains. Make sure to bring a four wheel drive vehicle if possible. Loved the street and location. Shaver lake is a nice area. 1.5 from Yosemite and Sequoia. We were able to see both in two days. I would stay there again
Cozy Forest Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Mischell Date: 01/11/2017
Was a little disappointed with arrival check in/staff in office that day weren't as friendly as when we booked/payed previously. Even though check in stated 4:00pm,thought should have been possible to enter earlier that day since we arrived a few hours earlier and no one had rented the property previously. Overall a great property and would consider staying again
  Manager Response:
Thank you for responding to our guest survey. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our Vacation Planner team. Please don't be upset with them because of the 4pm check in time. They are only following protocol and communicating with our outside team on getting the property cleaned and ready for arrival at 4pm during the busy holiday weekend.
Travelers Rest Review Rating:
Name: Kim Date: 01/11/2017
Was wishing for snow, only got rain. We will return soon to play in the snow!
Bonanza Bunkhouse Review Rating:
Name: Seng Date: 01/11/2017
There was blood/red stain inside the shower upstairs. The water pressure was very low to shower/bathe in. Seen couple spiders upstairs. Downstairs shower/tub was dirty. Had hairs inside the tub.
  Manager Response:
Dear Seng, Thanks for responding to our guest survey. The red stain in the shower is actually a splash of anti-freeze for winterizing the property during the winter months. We apologize the housekeeping staff missed a spot on wiping it up. We always ask our guests to contact us immediately if there are any issues with the property and we will be prompt to take care of the issue. If known, they would've come out to kill the spiders.
Bonanza Bunkhouse Review Rating:
Name: Enrique Date: 01/11/2017
Making check in at 4pm really robs you of a whole day. I was basically paying just to sleep the first night. Just a suggestion an earlier check in would really make this a great value. The property was excellent & I would definitely recommend it to family & friends.
  Manager Response:
Dear Enrique, Thanks for responding to our survey. We do try to get you into the property earlier than check in time of 4pm. Unfortunately most hotels and vacation rental companies have a check in time anywhere from 3pm to 5pm. Check out time is at 11am and during the busy winter season, we try our hardest to get all back to backs turned around in time for a 4pm arrival time. We will share this review with the owner and he will pleased that you were happy with the accommodations. Thank you.
River Rock Rest Review Rating:
Name: Pat Date: 01/09/2017
Celebrated our 29 anniversary and wife and I had a wonderful time. Place was cozy, cute and even better than advertised. Thanks.
DJK Chalet Review Rating:
Name: Jonathan Date: 01/09/2017
The trash situation was a little difficult since the dumpsters were locked. Also wish I could have checked in earlier. Other then that the stay was pleasant.
  Manager Response:
Thanks for responding to our guest survey. As stated in our welcome packet that is given to you, please contact our maintenance team and we would be happy to stop by and pick up the trash during your stay. The local HOA of Silver Tip Village would prefer us not to use the local trash facility so the full time residents can use the dumpsters.
Cozy Forest Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Bridget Date: 01/09/2017
warm comfortable and nice view to watch the snow fall... also good access to open space for peaceful walking... and wifi :) good trip.
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Joyce Date: 01/09/2017
The cabin was warm, and inside lights were on as we arrived which was lovely as it was a cold evening. We had everything we needed and enjoyed snowshoeing during the day and cozy dinners in a warm cabin in the evening. We really appreciated the pet friendly cabin and our dog loved our snow treks! Our only complaint would be minor design flaws in the cabin -- no light over the kitchen sink or island and the apparent inability to control the burn rate on the wood stove -- nothing major.
Golden Pond Getaway Review Rating:
Name: Jan Date: 01/09/2017
The reason I am giving property a poor is its outdated furnishing, dark interior and lack of some basic kitchen utensils-such as wine bottle opener, can opener that works (theirs is broken) paper towels (at least one roll would be nice) no coffee grinder for beans (this I feel is basic for most people) and just overall depressing character of the 1970's style of cabin. We will NOT be using this cabin again-although Golden Pond location was great-your service was great-and everything else was wonderful-just the cabin was - blah! Especially for the price we paid. We stay at Air BnB's and other accommodations such as at the Redwoods in Yosemite, Morro Bay beach houses or Hawaii and are always over the top thrilled with decor and accommodations, we travel a lot, so have lots to compare this too-no wonder it was one of the last cabins available to us!! Please, remodel people! You have a gem of a location but it's dreary and run down.
Tuscany at Shaver Review Rating:
Name: Erica Villegas Date: 01/09/2017
Great cabin, our family had a wonderful time even with all the rain! We'll definitely come back!! Thanks for sharing your cabin with us!
Blue Meadow Cottage Review Rating:
Name: Suzan Date: 01/09/2017
We very much enjoyed our stay in Blue Meadow Cabin. We wish the DVR in the kids room worked and the WiFi worked but that was minor for us. The yard was great for snow play for our grandsons and the cabin was very comfortable.
Black Diamond Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Jayne Date: 01/09/2017
We had a great time. Cabin is rustic but spacious and well stocked. Neighbor dogs were fine, one of them (short hair one) was a bit alpha so if your dog doesn't tolerate that, it might not be a good fit. We loved walking out the back door and being in the forest. 5 minutes to China peak and Huntington lake and in a cool remote little neighborhood.
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Rose Date: 01/09/2017
Captains cove was very cozy and cute. We are very grateful owners are pet friendly. My only complaint would be the beds. Both beds down stairs are Extremely uncomfortable, very hard like sleeping on a table. My suggestion would be if owners can not get new mattresses, then they should invest in gel foam mattress pads. Other then our sleep time we had a blast!! Thank you
Quality Time Review Rating:
Name: Travis Date: 01/03/2017
Great home, Great location! It was very clean and nice! The Shaver Lake Vacation Rental staff is very responsive and helpful as well! Thank you, Travis A
Black Diamond Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Dharma Date: 01/03/2017
Nice cabin, the wi-if was pretty slow with 8 people trying to use it. The kitchen was well stocked, lots of games and DVDs were available the kids had a blast!
Captains Cove Review Rating:
Name: Julie Date: 01/03/2017
I'd first like to say the things we liked about captains cove. It is so cozy overall! The location is amazing. The grounds surrounding the cabin are amazing. The TV's in each room is a big plus!! The upstairs was laid out perfectly for our kiddos! The laundry room, washer/dryer, and all the hooks are excellent! There are a few suggestions however I'd like to make...First of all, taking out the Armour in the living room and placing a TV on the wall would make a huge difference in that room. Then, a person can see the TV from all the seats in the room! I would also suggest putting a gas line in for the fire place. The wood seemed (naturally) a little damp and it was very difficult to keep the fire going. Finally- I would suggest using fitted sheets to cover the mattress. I'm not sure how that works and may not even be available using a linen service but it would be much nicer for guests. Thank you for the quick response on getting the pipe underneath the kitchen sink fixed! We will definitely use Shaver Lake vac rentals again!! Thank you!!
Bonanza Bunkhouse Review Rating:
Name: Karen Date: 01/03/2017
Very clean and organized. Game room would've be much better if it had some more games. But again everything in cabin is very close to perfect.
Cedar Acres Review Rating:
Name: Steve Date: 01/03/2017
Very easy to deal with, we booked last minute and this was the only company that could find us a cabin. Answered the phone every time we called, overall great cabin and very happy with the service. We will be booking again soon. Thank you so much, Clark Family
Rocky Pines Lodge Review Rating:
Name: Clarissa Date: 12/21/2016
I rented the cabin for my daughters 10th birthday and she absolutely loved it! we all loved it! Nice and cozy and to top it off they had everything you can possibly imagine in this cabin! games, Bikes, snow sleds etc.. They are ready for winter and summer! The views are amazing!!!There was snow all around the cabin and we didn't have to go anywhere and to top it off the master bedroom was amazing! A jetted tub, fire place and deck of the master room...Its just a gorgeous cabin over all! I will be back, most definitely :)
Knotty Rock Ridge Review Rating:
Name: David Date: 12/19/2016
This cabin was completely stocked with everything our family needed. We will definitely love to return and experience more family time here!
Mountain Paradise Review Rating:
Name: Jason Date: 12/15/2016
Had a great time at mountain paradise. Lovely home in a great location. Loved all the trails around the property to take the dogs out on nice walks. We hope to come back when there will be some snow. Would have liked there to be window coverings on the doors in the bedrooms and the downstairs apartment is freezing. Not much heat gets down there.
Mountain Paradise Review Rating:
Name: David Date: 12/15/2016
We LOVED staying in Mountain Paradise! Pros: Beautiful living room with plenty of couch space for a large group of people, great pool table, awesome country pellet stove which added to the whole cozy feeling of staying warm inside as we watched the snow coming down outside through the windows, three total bathrooms all with showers, great fully furnished kitchen and I could go on. Cons: The only con I can think to list is the fact that my 80 year old father was staying in the mini suite pictured as part of this location. When we arrived, we discovered that the only way for him to get up into the main living space from the suite was up a very dangerous set of stairs (clearly added after photos of the property were posted to the website and definitely not made for young kids or anybody elderly for safety reasons. I would definitely recommend adding a second hand railing so that there is not an open side to this staircase where one might slip and fall off the stairs altogether) or he would have to open the garage door and go all the way around the front of the property and through the front door. We were able make this work so that it didn't affect our stay and we had a fantastic time! Overall, we love the area and loved staying in Mountain Paradise as well! We look forward to returning!
Knotty Rock Ridge Review Rating:
Name: Mark Date: 12/06/2016
We had a great time in the cabin we stayed in. Lots of room and great parking. I would recommend this cabin to everybody. Thank you
Loggers Landing Review Rating:
Name: Becky Date: 12/06/2016
We loved our stay at loggers landing! The only thing we can suggest is perhaps setting up WIFI and the new beds. They were not comfortable. Thanks :)
Granite Ridge Retreat Review Rating:
Name: Ann Date: 12/06/2016
Well stocked for a family cooking Thanksgiving dinner together. Beautiful location with hiking trails right in the community. Loved our time in Shaver Lake.